About Me

About Me 

STYLE 

Based on my experience and preferences, I see only adults and adolescents for individual and couples psychotherapy, though I will have the occasional family session as an adjunct to the individual work of a client.  

Though I work with a wide range of presentations and goals, I tend to focus on assisting with depression and anxiety, and helping increase productivity (including managing ADD) and relationship satisfaction.

Coming from the G.W. PsyD Program, I was psychodynamically trained, but have continued to become more integrative in my approach, primarily working from the humanistic perspective.  As such, I am collaborative and active in session, being very inquisitive, and seeking to work together to brainstorm new ideas, perspectives, and strategies.  Because weekly sessions are not always optimal for accelerating growth (like  exercising only when you meet with your personal trainer), I sometimes encourage proactive steps between sessions, when indicated. 

Because I place much importance on emotions, authenticity, and playfulness, I am comfortable shedding tears along with my clients, and laughing out loud in sessions.  I find it most helpful to be clear about goals up front, and then thoughtfully proceed along in therapy, checking in at times to refocus when needed, or switch goals. 

I periodically communicate via email between sessions for check-ins and to answer questions (though more serious matters are discussed on the phone or in session), or via texts (usually for administrative matters).

I am happy to talk more about my practice on the phone, including answering any questions you may have.  This phone contact is also a good opportunity for you to get a sense of my interpersonal style.  Feel free to be in touch to set up a time to talk on the phone (Contact Me). 

BACKGROUND 

I was born in Philadelphia, but grew up internationally because my father worked for the US State Department.  I lived in Kenya, France, The Philippines, and Thailand, where I attended international schools for most of my upbringing.  Because of this, and the fact that my mother is Vietnamese, I believe I have a strong multicultural appreciation and sensitivity.  I am married, with two young daughters.

I attended Williams College in Massachusetts, majoring in Psychology, and graduated in 1996.  I spent the next three years working as a Psychiatric Technician on the Behavioral Health Unit of Suburban Hospital, Bethesda, confirming my desire to work in the field of mental health.  I then pursued my Doctorate in Clinical Psychology (PsyD) at The George Washington University Professional Psychology Program, with a major in Adult and minor in Community Psychology. 

During my doctoral training, I was an extern at The Catholic University Counseling Center, and completed a predoctoral internship at the Johns Hopkins Counseling Center. The following year, I held a postdoctoral fellowship at Georgetown University CAPS (Counseling and Psychiatric Service), where I was later hired on as a Staff Psychologist and Outreach Coordinator, until I left in 2009.  I have been in private practice since 2005.